Social Media

My generation has grown up with social media at our finger tips which has made it easily accessible and almost second nature to us to use them. From Piczo when we were in year seven, to Bebo. in year eight and then to our first (very embarrassing and now deleted) Twitter accounts in year nine. Now the sites I use regularly are Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr and Facebook. .

Twitter is my favourite site of all. It is easy to use and allows me to broadcast my day-to-day general thoughts with no judgement being made. Accounts I follow range from BBC News, to my best friend, to my favourite band… and my Dad. I use twitter most often as it is unfiltered so when a breaking new story has occurred you can easily follow the updates.

I am a newbie on Instagram due to only just upgrading from a blackberry to an iPhone. But so far I have used it to post pictures of nice meals to my friends and I before a night out. The fact there is no character limit on the captions allows you to describe the picture properly, whereas you may not be able to do so on twitter due to the limit on characters used. The aspect of Instagram I enjoy the most is following celebrities on their and having an insight to their daily lives, Kendal Jenner was in Paris for Fashion Week and I was in Manchester for induction week, it just puts things into perspective.

Tumblr is a strange one for me. Since I was fourteen I have had an account and I used to love it. However within the last two years I have stopped posting on the site, now instead I just have a browse at what people have put on; from gifs of cats playing pianos/goats screaming like Taylor Swift to my favourite bands new single preview. I don’t find it that useful anymore.

Last but not least, Facebook, I am one of over one billion users. It is more handy for communicating with people via messages, this is where Twitter fails in my opinion by having the character limit on direct messages as well. A wide variety of people use it, from people my age to my uncle and auntie to cake business’ promoting themselves through the site. This platform is more open and visible to everybody, hense why I haven’t posted a status since June. Apart from messaging, the pictures I post are there to keep family members and my friends tied into my world (as I wouldn’t want them all following my Twitter account). It’s definitely an easy way to connect with people all over the world and keep intouch, my Granddad is always jetting off somewhere new and I am not making the mistake of ringing him and it costing an arm and a leg, so Facebook fills in that void.

As I am now a Journalism student I will definitely be using all of my media platforms to aid me with my work alongside following other journalists and keeping up to date with current affairs (aswell as still watching videos of goats).

About Jenna Saville

I am a 21 year old Multimedia Journalism student at Manchester Metropolitan University. I enjoy drinking tea and watching Grey's Anatomy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

