HUMANS OF MMU.

  One often speaks of their future, where their hopes, ambitions and dreams could take root and blossom into a path that benefits the greater society as whole.Time vested in studies and ambition is a cycle that yields rewards, irrespective of the struggles inherent not only with the study and pursuit of academia but, the passage of life itself. Each and every person that has embarked upon this voyage of discovery has learned more about themselves with each and every lesson, which is not always strictly relegated to the classroom.

Have you ever wanted to look back on somebodies academic career? See what somebody did previously that led them on the journey that is life? That’s the beauty with university you never know where it will take you. I spoke to somebody who took me through their university experiences at Manchester Polytechnic (now Manchester Metropolitan University) from 23 years ago.

Two events that happened in the autumn of 1987 when I was 18 years old mapped out the next 20 years of my life. I began my first full time job at ICI Chemicals in Blackley and began my day-release studies at Manchester Polytechnic. I was the first one to go to university, I was given the chance to go to Oxford but my protective father said no, so Manchester Polytechnic it was.

Based in the John Dalton faculty on Chester Street, I first becan my HNC and continued onto a BSc Hons in Applied Chemsitry.

I lived at home in Stalybridge and commuted. The days were long 8am-8pm, with lectured from 9am-7pm.

I enjoyed the practical work in the laboratories and the organic chemistry lectures the most.

My favourite lecturers were Dr Ken Williams (physical chemistry) and Dr Wilson (organic chemistry).

I achieved a 2.1 and had my graduation at the Free Trade hall (now the Raddison Hotel) in 1992, the year the Poly became MMU. I then went on to study for an Organic Chemistry masters at University of Manchester and graduated with a in 1995.

Yes you could say that. Now 23 years later I am 47 and my daughter goes to MMU, so we’re carrying on a little tradition is may seem. The John Dalton faculty look sthe same but the surroundings have changed a great deal. My daughter lives in student accomodation built on what was once where I parked my car. There are also a Nandos and other restaurants along the street. It definitely feels much more cosmopolitan than it did. Thankfully the two oldest pubs in the city The Salisbury and Lars O’Gowrie are still there.

My career has diverged from chemistry into health and safety training.

 

About Jenna Saville

I am a 21 year old Multimedia Journalism student at Manchester Metropolitan University. I enjoy drinking tea and watching Grey's Anatomy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

